The European Parliament is made up of 705 Members, elected in the 27 Member States. Since 1979 MEPs have been elected by direct universal suffrage for a fiveyear period. Seats are allocated on the basis of population of each Member State. MEPs are grouped by political affinity, not nationality. Bulgaria has 17 members in the European Parliament for the 2019 – 2024 mandate. The Bulgarian members take an active part in the work of the institution, they participate in different EP committees, communicate with people through their offices in Bulgaria. They also undertake different initiatives of high importance for the further development of the EU and for improving the well-being of the citizens.