The Euro coins are in circulation since January 2002. They are issued in 8 nominals: 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, 1 euro and 2 euro.
The euro coins are similar on the one side and the other side is a national one. All coins may be in circulation in the whole Euro Area. In mid-2020 Bulgaria is not part of the Euro Area and still has not decided on the national side for future euro coins.
Each country may issue two commemorative coins per year. Coins may be also issued jointly by all euro countries. Only the €2 denomination can be used for commemorative coins. They are legal tender throughout the Euro Area.